Our Curriculum


We would like to introduce you to, and explain the Early Years, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 programes of study which we follow.

We produce a Curriculum Newsletter which describes in detail the topics covered for each year group, for each term. To view these, and for more details of the Curriculum please follow the links below.

Early years foundation stage

When children first come in to school they are following the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) programme of study - for children up to 5 years old (and beyond where relevant).

The EYFS has four guiding principles:

  • every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured

  • children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships

  • children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers

  • children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape learning in the early years.

All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

  • communication and language

  • physical development

  • personal, social and emotional development

The four specific areas in addition to these are

  • literacy

  • mathematics

  • understanding the world

  • expressive arts and design

Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Throughout this time the progress of each child is continually assessed and activities planned to meet their future needs. We aim to plan ‘just beyond the fingertips of each child.

Throughout their time in the Foundation Stage, you and your child’s teacher will share information about their progress at school and at home. At the end of the year you will receive a written report with details of their achievements and highlighting the next steps in their learning.

Key stage 1, Years 1 - 2

In Year 1 and Year 2 your child is following the Key Stage 1 programme of study. Throughout this time your child will be assessed against national standards in speaking and listening, reading, writing and maths. At the end of Year 1 your child will take a Phonics Screening Test, which will test their ability to read words using phonic skills alone. At the end of Year 2 they are assessed through SATs tests (Statutory Assessment Tests), and teacher assessments. Teacher assessment is used continually throughout the year, making judgements about achievement based on nationally agreed standards in order to plan future learning.

At the end of Key Stage 1 (end of Year 2) assessment data for the school is reported nationally, although individual pupils are not identified.

It is not possible to pass or fail these tests; they are simply a measure of progress, and also one of the means by which the government is able to measure the effectiveness of the school.

Key stage 2, Years 3 - 6

Children follow the Key Stage 2 programmes of study from 7-11 years old (Year 3 to Year 6). We cover all of the statutory elements of the National Curriculum; English, Maths, Science, Design and Technology, History, Geography, Art and Design, Music, Physical Education (PE) including swimming, Computing and Modern Foreign Languages. We also teach Religious Education (RE), PSHE Education (Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education) and Sex and Relationship Education (SRE). Through our topics we aim to engage pupils in their learning, making meaningful links through a cross-curricular approach in order to support the development of skills.

As at Key Stage 1, your child’s progress is carefully monitored and regularly assessed throughout Key Stage 2 using teaching assessment and some written tests.

At the end of Year 6, pupils complete national curriculum tests (sometimes referred to as SATs) which provide information about how they are progressing compared to other children of the same age nationally. School data for pupil achievement at the end of Year 6 is collated by Beds Borough and reported within the Local Authority, although individual pupils are not identified.